SRMG's 2019 Modelling Competition



The 2019 Modelling Competition, held on the 29th. March, saw 22 entries, this number up on last year’s event and of a higher quality overall. Across the five categories, models exhibited ranged from 3D printed rolling stock to divers dioramas, from clever mechanisations to impressive kit-builds and, of course, a variety of interesting scratch-builds too.

The winners and runners-up in the various sections were as follows [and congratulations to them all]:

Diorama category

First place went to John Gardner for an impressive railway scrap-yard scene, with huge amounts of detail cleverly worked into a small space:

Still in the diorama category, second place went to Simon Durrer for his ‘The Welcome in The Valley’ themed piece:

Kit-build category

First place was awarded to Daniel Thomas for this exquisite narrow-gauge tank engine. The photograph does not do justice to the detail in this model:

And second place went again to Simon Durrer for his saddle tank:

Scratch-built or very heavily modified ready-to-run category

First place was awarded to Tony Richards for this pair of coaches which ran on the ex-Cambrian Railways in mid-Wales during the late 1930s:

And second went to Ian Steveson for his beautiful model in ‘N’ of Box Station in mid-Victorian days. Again, the photograph does not do justice to the detail here:

Miscellaneous category

First place here went to Steve G for his working model of a traditional fairground dodgems ride:

And second went to Gwion Rhys Davies for his cleverly motorised and rail-converted die-cast Land Rover [a model based on an actual prototype]:

The First Entrant category

A new category, for those who have never entered the club’s annual modelling competition before, and won by Robert Temple, with his neat, small level-crossing diorama:

And finally, the John Rogers’ Award

The John Rogers’ Award is presented by the Chair for the entry which, in his opinion, is the best or most worthy from the rest. Niel Clements deputised for the Chair this year and chose Colin Edwards’ model of a small diesel servicing point:

Whilst the above were this year’s prize winners, many other worthy entries were submitted and below are just a few of them….

Finally, the winners…..